The Masters golf tournament has been going on for 83 years and over that time we have seen so many great champions claim the most coveted jacket in all of sports.

What makes the Masters the most unique out of the four majors is it’s contested on the same golf course each and every year.  Augusta National is known among many as the prized jewel of golf courses and is on every golfer’s bucket list.

Over the 83 year history of the Masters only three players have successfully defended their title. 

Jack Nicklaus – 1965-1966

Nick Faldo – 1989-1990

Tiger Woods – 2001-2002

16 players have won the Masters more than once with Jack Nicklaus being the most successful with 6 titles in his career.

Below is a list of the multiple winners.

What makes repeating at Augusta National so hard?  Well there are many factors but none more prevalent than golf is a flat out hard game at any level, let alone at the highest level on the biggest stage.  Augusta National has the ability to expose any weakness a golfer may have during that week with the treacherous putting surfaces and prestige of winning the event.

Will Danny Willett defend for the 4th time in the history of the Masters?  I will say the odds are strongly against him but we will just have to sit back and see what happens.

As always thank you for reading!

Until next time, go out and make some birdies!

Michael Romano Jr